Skip to content

I’m No Chicken

March 19, 2012

So I ate my first Five Guys burger this weekend…with bacon, fried onions, lettuce, tomatoes, mayo and pickles.

I had been hearing from friends, family and coworkers for years about how good these burgers were. A Five Guys moved in not too far from me three or four years ago, but I just never got around to eating there. Maybe it’s the fact that I try not to eat out a lot. I don’t have the money, and health-conscious me would rather have a banana than a burger. In fact, it had been more than a decade since I had a beef hamburger. But just this once, I decided to go all-out.

It was pretty delicious. In fact, the only thing that could have made it better was a little more bacon 🙂 The bun was great, the other toppings were plentiful and the burger was hot and juicy (that’s how they’re supposed to be, right?), not to mention the awesome fries.

I can say I’ll definitely go there again, but I’m not about to become  a burger connoisseur. All this recent talk of pink slime reminds me of why I stopped eating burgers in the first place. I remember there being a mad cow scare in the early 2000s, and 11 year-old me was not having any of that. Since that point I’ve really limited my red meat intake (although I am a complete barbecue fanatic). However, I am quite glad that my first burger was a Five Guys burger.  I don’t regret it one bit.

From → Food, Other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

