Skip to content

Springtime for the Variety Blog!

March 19, 2012

Tomorrow is the first day of Spring and I’m excited. Warm weather on the East Coast means flowers and trees are already blooming. I’ve broken out my t shirts and shorts, and the birds have started waking us up at dawn to let us know they want sexytime (we get it already).

I love Spring because I love being outside. Last week, I made the trek to Tyler State Park(one of my favorite places on earth) to get a little exercise and fresh air. I like to get lost in the woods and pretend I’m in Narnia or I’m a scientist who knows a lot about trees. Or sometimes I like to just squish around in the mud and try to climb on trees and rocks. I tried venturing out on this log:

Pennsylvania State Parks

Looks stable, right?

It turns out I should probably get shoes that aren’t made of  canvas. My sneakers and socks and pants got wet and muddy. Oh well. Where’s the fun in trying to stay clean (I say as my Mother shudders)?

In my ventures I also found some daffodils in full bloom. As much as I wanted to pick them for my hair, I decided to leave nature untouched:

Daffodils

Cell phone pictures YAY!

By the time the day was over, I had spent a few hours just wandering around, and ended up falling asleep in my car like a hobo (and proud of it).

I have a dream of going to every state park in the US, or at least in the state of Pennsylvania, and putting together a huge book of pictures or maybe a documentary. Getting paid to be outside all day would be wonderful.

So enjoy your first day of spring, get your “green time” in (it’s surprisingly beneficial, do a little research), and get dirty!

 

 

 

 

From → Nature, Other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

